The e-Assessment Association today announced the shortlisted finalists for its international awards programme, The e-Assessment Awards. The winners will be announced at the awards gala dinner on 10 April in central London.

The e-Assessment Awards programme was launched in October 2016 to highlight and celebrate the outstanding and positive contributions that technology makes to all forms of assessment, and has gone on to showcase the best practice, research and innovation in the sector.

The Awards programme holds a unique position, as it encompasses all sectors of education; from schools, through further and higher education to workplace training and professional exams.

The six sets of finalists were shortlisted by six separate panels of highly experienced, international experts.

The following have been announced as finalists within the respective categories:


Best Use of Formative Assessment sponsored by NCFE Cache

● Cognii for the Cognii Virtual Learning Assistant

● Prime Principle Ltd for SIMPLE by Classroom Monitor

● Vretta for IntroMath


Best Use of Summative Assessment sponsored by SQA

● Eindhoven University of Technology / Cirrus Assessment

● Highfield Qualifications

● Qpercom for Qpercom Observe

● TestWe


Innovation sponsored by Innovate Awarding

● Cognii for the Cognii Virtual Learning Assistant

● International Well Control Forum (IWCF) for Easy as Pi, with a FORUM HUB

● Lexplore

● NCFE CACHE for PregnancyVue by CACHE


Best Transformational Project sponsored by RM Results

● iCapture Limited for Capture Education

● MyKnowledgeMap and Anglia Ruskin University

● SATs Companion

● telc gGmbH for telc – language tests

● The Federation for Industry Sector Skills & Standards for ​ACE360

● The University of Reading


Best Research sponsored by ACER UK

● PSI Services for A Comparative Study of Online Remote Proctored versus Onsite Proctored High-Stakes Exams


Excellence in Export

● Laser Learning

● RM Results

● Vretta for MathemaTIC


Janet Garcia, President PSI International, the Awards’ headline sponsor, said: “The Awards programme once again demonstrates the incredible quality and ingenuity of e-assessment solutions and projects worldwide, and we are delighted to continue to support the Awards because of the value and richness of the shared knowledge that we are able to showcase as a result.”

Matt Wingfield, chairman of The e-Assessment Association, continued, “The Awards highlight those who are making a positive contribution to e-assessment and help share best practice in conceiving, developing and deploying technology enabled assessment in all sectors of education. The high quality of submissions this year is a true testament to the continuing calibre of those within the sector, with the international nature of submissions demonstrating the increasing reach of e-assessment right across the globe. Given the large number of entries, securing a place on the shortlist is quite an achievement in of itself and we wish all the shortlisted finalists the very best of luck.”